Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

June 26, 2024

Jospeh R. Biden President of the United States 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear President Biden:

We write in strong opposition to the proposed adoption of the 2021 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) as the minimum energy efficiency standard for all Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and Department of Agriculture (USDA) financed new construction homes. This new standard would greatly decrease housing affordability and availability for homebuyers of HUD- and USDA-financed homes.

As you know, the nation is experiencing a housing affordability crisis and there are many existing challenges to address that concern. In fact, HUD estimates that applying the 2021 IECC standards would cause new home prices to rise by an average of \$7,200 per single-family home. Additionally, National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) data shows that around 107 million households are already unable to afford the median price of a new home. The adoption of this new standard will price an additional 724,525 households out of the market.

Let us be clear, 44 states have not adopted the 2021 IECC because they understand this would greatly harm homebuilders and buyers alike. Now is not the time to implement additional regulations that add more uncertainty, delays, or costs to the home building process. This requirement will have a disproportionate impact on historically underserved communities and first-time home buyers who are highly sensitive to price and down payment increases at the low-to mid-price range of the housing market.

It is clear that adoption of the 2021 IECC by HUD and USDA will negatively impact homebuyers' ability to find and afford new construction housing. We respectfully request you do not move forward with adopting this standard and protect housing opportunities for all Americans.

Sincerely,

Member of Congress

en Clive

Ben Cline

CC: T-HUD Subcommittee Chair Steve Womack
T-HUD Subcommittee Ranking Member Mike Quigley
Agriculture Subcommittee Chair Andy Harris
Agriculture Subcommittee Ranking Member Sanford Bishop

Member of Congress

Member of Congress Andy Biggs

Ranky X. Wiln

Member of Congress Randy Weber

Member of Congress
John Moolenaar

Member of Congress
James Baird

Member of Congress Clay Higgins Member of Congress Ralph Norman

Member of Congress Mary Miller

Member of Congress Aaron Bean

Member of Congress Michael Cloud Member of Congress Dan Meuser Clo C

Member of Congress Chip Roy

Member of Congress Tim Walberg

Timbalberg

Member of Congress Greg Pence

Member of Congress Mariannette Miller-Meeks

Mariannette of Miller Mesks

Member of Congress Adrian Smith Member of Congress Dusty Johnson

Member of Congress Keith Self Member of Congress Brad Finstad

Member of Congress Jake LaTurner